Medi-Cal Has Landed

When I arrived home early Thursday morning from a long and exhaustive day at L.A. County Access Para-Transit program I was greeted with a pleasant surprise in the mail box: a letter informing me that my Medi-Cal has been approved. The program is retroactive to February 4, which means that between Medicare and Medi-Cal all of my hospital bills will be covered with no dough out of my own light wallet. It also means that social services can now begin to move ahead on IHSS for me. And not a moment too soon.

I do not have my Medi-Cal card yet and in the interim I still have many meds to pick up and pay for at CVS. I’m going on my fifth day without various vital prescription meds owing to an inability to raise enough cash to purchase the products.

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

