The Caregiver

The MSW just left; she will be getting me pre-qualified for ParaTransit to and from my medical appointments, and IHSS for one year or longer; that basically means a caretaker. Once approved for IHSS the state will send a social worker to determine how many hours a day a caretaker would need to meet my needs, including cooking, cleaning, laundry, etc. The pay is something like $9.70 per hour. I’m urged to find a friend who can fill this role in approximately three to four weeks. If I cannot find or be referred to someone who wants the job among my friends then social services has a list of licensed caregivers in the L.A. area to choose from. But I’d rather have someone that I or my friends know and trust.

Tags: , ,

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

