The Sunday Update

Well, the rent for April is paid. Lela went to the bank for me yesterday and took care of that; after a doctor co-pay, two heavy rounds of prescription meds late last week, and two delivery orders of largely organic foods from yummy.com in Echo Park, I am completely tapped out. Thank God for my anxiety medication … which I have to pick up today (the monthly refill) but no monies are available for that.

I’m anxious for the social service programs to kick in but, as my primary said, “these things take time”.

Lela has been a terrific help. I cannot fathom how I could have endured this without her, but she is leaving in two weeks, at which point I’m on my own again. Hopefully I’ll be prepared by then and my IHSS (In-Home Support Services) should have kicked in.

In the meanwhile, I’m back to my imitation of a beggar in the street; hand out, palm up. Money for food and meds are the big priority today.

Tags: , ,

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

