Fast Tracking a Slow Process

The post-surgical check-up with my doctor went well yesterday, aside from the edema he discovered in both of my legs, which could be the result of any number of things: the arthritis, or my use of prescription NSAIDs and corticosteroids, or a combination of all three.

He is fast tracking the process for IHSS (In-Home Social Services) and physical rehab. In the meantime, thanks to Lela, the applications for Medicaid and recertification of my SNAP (food stamps) benefits have been submitted. This is going to be a long, long trail, as my doctor remarked yesterday.

The fatigue that’s plagued me since surgery on March 20 has begun to ebb just a bit. Yesterday between doctor co-pay, prescriptions, some much needed household supplies from the “Bargain Hit!” discount store on Sunset, and stuff for dinner, I blew through my last fifty bucks in just under two hours. And I forgot to purchase milk, coffee, and bathroom tissue. And there are still five freaking days until payday.

Tags: ,

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

