Six Weeks

Yesterday my doc informed me that I can look forward to six weeks of recovery, meaning six weeks of horrid fatigue that makes it damn near impossible to do all I have to do in terms of social services.

“It was serious and major surgery you went through,” she explained. “It will take some time to fully heal.”

I am so accustomed to running off to medical appointments and tests that I awoke at four this morning worried that I had to get out of bed to meet a pending appointment. After awakening fully, I realized that I do not have another appointment until this Friday afternoon.

Yesterday I went through $100 in record time: after paying down my bill at the doc’s office [leaving a $10 balance], picking up household and medical supplies at the dollar store on Sunset, prescription meds at CVS, and a few paltry groceries, I am now, once again, flat broke and busted with nine more days to go before my next SSD payday.

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

6 responses to “Six Weeks”

  1. Kitty says :

    What, exactly, was done?

  2. Rodger Jacobs says :

    It was, as you put it recently on Facebook, seven hours of “roto-rooter” treatment to open up two arteries in my carotid that were 50 percent blocked with plaque. The scar on my neck is quite unsightly.

    • Kitty says :

      You’re lucky they’d do that with only 50% blockage. When my husband had his first heart attack, they did an angiogram and discovered a 60% blockage at the time. They said they don’t do anything until it reaches 70%. When he had his 2nd heart attack, the only working artery in his heart had collapsed flat as a pancake. They put two stents in and a defibrillator and he was good to go. To look at him now, you’d never guess that he was literally dead man walking at that time.

      As to your scar… Look upon it as a blessing you were able to have the surgery.

  3. Rodger Jacobs says :

    Well, because I had the TIA (mini-stroke) on January 31, it was felt that I was soon to have a more significant stroke, hence the decision. A stent was offered as an option but my neurosurgeon, one of the best on the west coast, said that stents in the carotid artery have a high failure rate and could lead to a catastrophic event, so that was taken off the table fairly quickly.

    • Kitty says :

      It sounds like you got the best. I actually saw a video of the roto-rooter operation years ago on TV. They pulled out a long plug that looked like spaetzle. This was back when the procedure was relatively new.

  4. Rodger Jacobs says :

    A TIA (Transient Ischemic Attack) is, as one of my doctors puts it, “a stroke that isn’t a stroke” but, rather, a precursor or foreshock of something larger to come.

Leave a Comment

