Eliminating Possibilities

Now that all the tests and scans “to eliminate possibilities” have concluded, the last week or so has been consumed by pre-surgical tests, which have exhausted me.

Friday was the worst day. I had an appointment for 10:30 at the MRI center. The instructions that Metro gave me were incorrect and I ended up at USC, far from their office on South Virgil in L.A.’s K-Town. I called them in a panic and they rescheduled me for 2:00, which gave me plenty of time for my blood work at St. Vincent’s Hospital, located above L.A.’s famed MacArthur Park.

I got off the bus at Grandview and Sixth Street and, per the instructions, walked three blocks to the hospital. Three blocks uphill, a steep mother of a hill. I surrendered six vials of blood.

Then it was on to Renaissance Imaging for my third brain scan, which I hate. The contrast dye this time made me violently ill all evening.

Surgery is three days away, Lela will be arriving tonight. Thanks to all who helped with her travel fund. I will be in need of food money while she is here, both for at home and at the hospital so she can buy lunch or breakfast in the hospital cafeteria.

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

