A Whole New Ballgame

The conventional wisdom is true: one good medical emergency can wipe one out financially. I’m $250 shy of my rent after cab fares and medications and the bills from the hospitals, Huntington in Pasadena (great medical center) and St. Vincent’s in downtown L.A. (possibly the worst hospital I’ve ever been to), have not even begun to roll in. Add to the mix the fact that So Cal Gas is cutting off my service tomorrow and it’s no wonder I am depressed.

As it has been for the last 13 years, my health is bad and getting worse in leaps and jumps; since December 27 I have had two strains of the flu, a herniated disc in my back, and now either a mini-stroke or a brain seizure, broken bones, and a possibly damaged spleen with a 20-40 percent chance of another event happening within 90 days.

It’s a whole new ballgame.

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

