Mini-Stroke

So I spent much of the afternoon on Wednesday in another ER ICU ward. This time I went voluntarily to St. Vincent’s Hospital in downtown L.A. under the encouragement of my doctor, who wanted several tests done.

I had bloodwork done, another EKG, another IV drip bag of Ativan, and an MRI of my chest. The diagnosis for my chest is a fracture or contusion to my rib cage, which means that I most definitely took a header to the sidewalk when I suffered my mini-stroke on Friday; that’s what it was: a a mini-stroke, otherwise known as a TIA or Transient Ischemic Attack, a possible precursor to a full-on stroke. From strokeassociation.org:

While transient ischemic attack (TIA) is often labeled “mini-stroke,” it is more accurately characterized as a “warning stroke,” a warning you should take very seriously.

TIA is caused by a clot; the only difference between a stroke and TIA is that with TIA the blockage is transient (temporary). TIA symptoms occur rapidly and last a relatively short time. Most TIAs last less than five minutes; the average is about a minute. When a TIA is over, it usually causes no permanent injury to the brain

Between Friday and yesterday I have spent a ton of money on hospital co-pays and cab rides home from hospitals, leaving me way short for rent and bills this month. And, obviously, the last thing I need is to be freaking out about this. Even small donations to my Paypal Maginot Line at rodger_jacobs@yahoo.com will be greatly, greatly appreciated.

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

