What Happened?

When I awoke late Saturday morning, there was sharp pain, muscle tenderness, in my upper back just below the left shoulder blade, which may go a long way toward explaining just what the hell happened yesterday that had me whisked away to Huntington Memorial Hospital in Pasadena for seven long hours.

THE FACTS AS I KNOW THEM:

Sometime in the three o’clock hour on Friday I headed off to the Metro bus stop to head to the pharmacy to pick up three scripts and a few groceries. I do not recall making it to the bus stop; my next recollection was sleeping. I was sleeping with my head resting on my arms folded across my knees …. as I sat on the curb of my residential street. I was jolted away by the blare of sirens directly in front of me. Two paramedic wagons and one engine company truck stopped and I was suddenly surrounded by six firefighters and medics.

The men were kind, concerned, and caring enough but they were determined, come hell or high water, to get me to a hospital, especially after I failed to answer a series of common questions like, “What year is this?”

There will be more on this later but suffice to say for now, I barely escaped being kept at Huntington for observation, fleeing in the middle of the night and making a long excursion via Metro rail, bus, and taxi cab back home by midnight, after being poked, prodded, X-rayed, MRId, and fed an IV drip of fluids, nutrients, and anxiety medication. And that flight back home stole most of the money I had to make it through the weekend.

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

