Charley Horse

In my thirty-odd years of writing and publishing I’ve never been more proud than when I received my contributors copy of the “Red Moon District” anthology from Underground Voices and discovered that my original short fiction piece, “No Style, No Grace, No Mercy” was placed at the front of the book, the very first story in the collection. I don’t believe I’ve ever been more flattered professionally in all my years of scribbling. Not a bad way to start out the new year.

On the other hand, things have been silent here at the blog due to a bad reaction I had to the prednisone blast my doctor put me on to bring down the inflammation from the herniated disc in my lower back.. Name a bad side effect from prednisone and I had it in spades: stomach upset, vomiting, fatigue, nervousness, sleeplessness. This went on for the better part of a week and a half and I’m only just now beginning to recover. I still have a bad pain in my lower right leg, akin to a charley horse that will not go away.

Financially, I’m on the road to recover, however, but things are going to be dicey for the next month or so. I was compelled to overdraft my checking account on Tuesday to buy groceries after the cost of eight prescription medication refills cut into my monetary reserves for food. From now until the third of February I am flat broke, with no way to pay my gas and electric bill and certainly no groceries after today.

 

 

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

