The Mexican Girl, California Central Valley

“I told Terry I was leaving. She had been thinking about it all night and was resigned to it. Emotionlessly she kissed me in the vineyards and walked off down the row. We turned at a dozen paces, for love is a duel, and looked at each for the last time. ‘See you in New York Terry,’ I said. She was supposed to drive to New York in a month with her brother. But we both knew she wouldn’t make it somehow. At a hundred feet I turned to look at her. She just walked on back to the shack, carrying my breakfast plate in one hand. I bowed my head and watched her. Well lackadaddy, I was on the road again.”

“On the Road”, Jack Kerouac

Via Wikimedia Commons

Tags: , , ,

About Rodger Jacobs

Writer

Leave a Comment

